10 YA Releases I’m Looking Forward To: July 2018

There’s a crazy number of new YA being dropped this summer, so here’s a quick round-up of the top ten that caught my eye. I didn’t realize it until I finished my list, but this list is all-female authors, which is always exciting. Lots of them are debuts too!

Here are ten that I’m already scheming to get my hands on.


36546635

Grace and Fury, Tracy Banghart (July 31)

Bold, brutal, and beautiful–a must-read fantasy full of fierce sisterhood, action, and political intrigue for fans of The Selection series, Caraval, and The Handmaid’s Tale.” (from publisher, Little Brown Books)

Strong-willed sisters in a monarchical, misogynist dystopia full of secrets and lies? Sign. me. up.

GoodreadsBarnes and Noble 


35720690

Heart of Thorns, Bree Barton (July 31)

“Inventive and heart-racing, this fierce feminist teen fantasy from debut author Bree Barton explores a dark kingdom in which only women can possess magic–and every woman is suspected of having it.” (HarperCollins)

This looks like an interesting counterpart to Grace and Fury, being more The Power than Handmaid’s Tale. I’ll be expecting lots of ball gowns and knife fights and plot twists.

GoodreadsBarnes and Noble


35068560

Sea Witch, Sarah Henning (July 31)

“Wicked meets The Little Mermaid in the captivating origin story of the sea’s most iconic villainess, perfect for fans of Heartless and Dorothy Must Die.” (Katherine Tegen Books)

In case the first two weren’t enough female-driven fantasy for you, this “fractured fairytale” retelling of Ursula’s origin story looks delightfully, luxuriously dark.

GoodreadsBarnes and Noble 


36519545

I am Still Alive, Kate Marshall (July 24)

“Cheryl Strayed’s Wild meets The Revenant in this heart-pounding story of survival and revenge in the unforgiving wilderness.” (Penguin)

I actually haven’t read a YA survival story since I read Hatchet in grade school, so I’m excited to see what Marshall does with the genre, especially with a female protagonist.

GoodreadsBarnes and Noble 


36039614

The Loneliest Girl in the Universe, Lauren James (July 3)

“A surprising and gripping sci-fi thriller with a killer twist.” (Harper Collins)

Her astronaut parents are dead, she’s alone on a spaceship, and mysterious NASA intrigue is headed her way. I have no idea if I’m going to like this but I am very ready to find out. I’ve read very little proper sci-fi, but I adored Artemis, which seems to share a little of this book’s premise.

GoodreadsBarnes and Noble 


35564535

Notes from My Captivity, Kathy Parks (July 10)

“Girl meets boy… and the family holding her hostage.” (Harper Collins)

I read the back-of-the-book synopsis through three times and I still feel like I have no idea what is going on. This insane premise might be amazing and it might be a train wreck, but either way, I feel confident I’ll be entertained.

GoodreadsBarnes and Noble 


36270292

The Unfortunates, Kim Liggett (July 10)

“For Fans of Riverdale and Pretty Little Liars, a haunting tale of privilege, guilt, and redemption from the author of the Bram Stoker Award winner, The Last Harvest.” (Tim Doherty)

The centerpiece of this teens from different worlds thrown together to share their feelings story seems torn from the headlines – the perpetrator of a fatal car crash excused by “affluenza.” I’m interested to see such a modern and dangerous take on the Breakfast Club structure.

GoodreadsBarnes and Noble


30969755

The Cheerleaders, Kara Thomas (July 31)

“From the author of The Darkest Corners and Little Monsters comes an all-new edge-of-your-seat thriller set in upstate New York about an eerie sequence of seemingly unrelated events that leaves five cheerleaders dead.” (Random House)

The blurb begins: “There are no more cheerleaders in the town of Sunnybrook.” The sister of the last cheerleader to die begins to unravel the mystery five years later. How can you not be in?

GoodreadsBarnes and Noble


35396511

If Only, Jennifer Gilmore (July 31)

“Acclaimed author Jennifer Gilmore’s intimate and achingly beautiful novel deftly explores the role that chance and choice play in shaping the lives of two teenagers, separated by sixteen years, but whose lives are intertwined.” (Harper Teen) 

It occurred to me as I read the synopsis that I’ve never actually read a YA novel with a pregnant teenage protagonist, which is remarkable. If Only looks emotional and imaginative, and the early reviews are glowing.

GoodreadsBarnes and Noble


Are any of these on your TBR list? Did I leave something out that you can’t wait to read? Let me know in the comments!

Advertisements

6 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s